About Us

Risk Management Framework

About NAIF Finance

Application Process

Guidance on the Format of an Investment Proposal

Written Notification from Northern jurisdictions

Media and Publications

Contact Us

The NAIF is governed by a Board of Directors with extensive experience and expertise in northern Australia across a range of sectors, including infrastructure, government, finance, construction and law.

Avatar Image Ms Sharon Warburton

Chairman (Western Australia)

Ms Sharon Warburton is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, a Fellow of the Institute Chartered Accountants Australia New Zealand and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Building.

She brings board experience in the infrastructure, resources, construction and agriculture sectors as well as a deep understanding of Northern Australia. She has significant experience in the fields of commercial investment analysis, accounting, mergers and acquisitions, corporate governance, audit and risk management. She is a part time member of the Takeovers Panel. Sharon was the winner of the 2014 Telstra Business Women’s Award for Western Australia and a 2015 Westpac AFR 100 Women of Influence Finalist.

Avatar Image Mr Barry Coulter

Director (Northern Territory)

Mr Coulter is a former member of the Northern Territory Legislative Assembly, serving for 16 years. During this time he served as Deputy Chief Minister and in a range of portfolios in the Northern Territory Government, including as Treasurer. One significant achievement during this time was the Alice Springs to Darwin Railway Project, spearheaded by Mr Coulter.

He has over 35 years’ experience in the infrastructure sector, currently serving as a director of Northern Territory Airports Pty Ltd, and was previously Chairman of Darwin Port Authority, Chairman of Airnorth and Executive Chairman of Sherwin Iron Ore Limited.

Avatar Image Mr Justin Mannolini

Director (Western Australia)

Mr Mannolini is a lawyer and investment banker with extensive expertise in mergers and acquisitions, capital markets, strategic advisory and corporate governance. He has over 20 years of experience in the legal and financial sectors, including as an executive director of a major Australian investment bank and a partner in one of Australia’s largest law firms.

He also serves with a number of professional and community organisations, including as a member of the Law School Advisory Board at Curtin University and Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Western Australia Museum Foundation.

Avatar Image Mr Khory McCormick

Director (Queensland)

Mr McCormick is a partner at a major Australian law firm with over 30 years’ experience in the areas of finance and insolvency, resource commodities and infrastructure and engineering projects. He has been the recipient of a number of professional honours and awards, including being named a Leading Lawyer by Chambers International in 2013.

He currently serves on a number of boards, including as Vice-President of the Australian Centre for International Commercial Arbitration and Member of the International Chamber of Commerce Australia.

Avatar Image Mr Bill Shannon

Director (Queensland)

Mr Shannon is a former mayor of Cassowary Coast Regional Council in far north Queensland, serving from 2008 until 2016. He is a chartered accountant, company director and farmer. Mr Shannon is also a former director of Advance Cairns and member of the Governance Institute of Australia and as a result has extensive experience working in and advocating for northern Australia.

Avatar Image Ms Karla Way-McPhail

Director (Queensland)

Ms Way-McPhail is Chief Executive Officer of a number of northern Australian mining and training firms, bringing extensive experience in operations and business. She also brings extensive board experience, having served on the boards of the Resources Industry Council Central Queensland and the Capricornia Chamber of Commerce.

In 2012, Ms Way-McPhail was the recipient of the prestigious Hudson Private and Corporate Award at the Telstra Queensland Business Women’s Awards. She is currently Patron of the Mining Womens Support Group.